Punishment for hazing exposed


MCT Photo

Hazing is a growing problem around the nation. It is defined as the imposition of strenuous, often humiliating, tasks as part of a program of rigorous physical training and initiation. Teachers and staff members are doing all they can to eliminate it.

Emilie King

In schools all across the nation, hazing is a big concern. Hazing, by definition, is humiliating a person or group with dangerous rituals. In fact, OH has a law that addresses hazing.

Hazing is not just simply a harassment in school. In 44 states, hazing is a criminal offense, including OH.

“Hazing is charged as a fourth degree misdemeanor. Anyone found guilty of this offense may be sentenced to up to 30 days in jail and/or fined up to $250. This is in addition to any other charges that relate to the hazing and that may be filed as well,” a Haren Law blog post said.

Even if a student is not charged with the offense in court, the Ohio hazing law states that a student can legally sue another student for the abuse or destruction that was caused to them.

However hazing is a felony in many other states, different states tend to use different penalties when it happens.

“Maryland state Sen. Jamie Raskin will soon unveil legislation to increase the fine [for hazing] to $5,000,” Bloomberg News said.

Although, with the hazing law that is current in Maryland, a convicted person can spend up to six months in jail for hazing.

“In some ways, there is a culture of acceptance around hazing. It is an almost standard and expected practice for many college fraternities and sororities,” Harren Law said.