Congratulations to 2017 National Merit Semifinalists!

Every September, the students scoring in the top one percent on the PSAT are recognized as National Merit Semifinalists. These students are representative of each state. This year the cut off score for the Semifinalists was 219. This was the highest it has ever been for Ohio students.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation provides scholarship application materials to Semifinalists through their high schools. To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, Semifinalists must advance to a Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other requirements explained in the information packet provided to each Semifinalist.

In February, around 15,000 Semifinalists in the nation are notified by mail that they have advanced to Finalist standing.

The Sycamore High School is proud to announce its 16 National Merit Semifinalists. Congratulations to the following seniors!

Jenna Bao,

Rishav Dasgupta,

David Godar,

Jacob Hasselbeck,

Kaitlyn Jiang,

Lavanya Konda,

Sam Lee,

Harsimran Makkad,

Alex Newberg,

Aidan Reckamp,

Nikhil Sekar,

Max Snyder,

Luke Tenbarge,

Kiri Wang,

Jiin Woo,

Michael Xiang